Kerala, Latest News

Lok Sabha election; CPM’s list of candidates almost ready; 15 seats decided; Innocent to contest in Chalakudy

Thiruvananthapuram: The CPM’s list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha election is almost ready. Despite opposition from the parliament committee, the state secretariat has decided to field Innocent in Chalakudy again.

Although two names were suggested, K P Satheesh Chandran will contest in Kasaragod.

Meanwhile, party district secretary V N Vasavan will contest in Kottayam.

Candidates for 15 constituencies excluding Ponnani have been decided. CPM state committee decided against P V Anwar, whose name was suggested.

The state secretariat opined against Anwar as the controversies regarding him would resurface.

The CPM is also considering SIDCO chairman Niyas Pulikkalakath.

The state secretariat meeting on Friday will decide who will replace Anwar.

With the exclusion of Anwar, the number of sitting MLAs contesting the LS polls has come down to three.

Constituencies and candidates

Attingal: A Sampath

Alappuzha: A M Ariff

Alathur: P K Biju

Chalakudy: Innocent

Ernakulam: P Rajeev

Idukki: Joice George

Kottayam: V N Vasavan

Kollam: K N Balagopal

Pathanamthitta: Veena George

Palakkad: M B Rajesh

Previous ArticleNext Article