India, Latest News

RR Nagar Election Result; Congress smells victory

Bengaluru: The initial reports into the Rajarajeshwari Nagar (RR Nagar) election speculate a whooping victory for the Congress with a lead that surges to 44,000 votes after ninth round of counting.

Contesting for the seat are Munirathna from Congress, BJP’s Muniraju Gowda, Janata Dal (Secular) candidate G H Ramachandra and 11 other candidates.

The recent Congress-JDS alliance against BJP in Karnataka did not prevent a triangular contest in Rajarajeshwari Nagar. The interest will be on whether BJP inches one closer to the halfway mark.

RR Nagar recorded around 53 percent voter turnout in all 471 polling stations on May 28.

Earlier, the constituency was scheduled to go to polls on May 12 with 222 other constituencies of Karnataka but was postponed in light of the alleged fake voter ID scam.

Hence, the elections in the constituency were conducted on May 28.

Previous ArticleNext Article