Breaking News

Chengannur bypoll; LDF’s Saji Cherian wins with 20,956 votes

[/media-credit] Saji Cherian

Chengannur: CPI-M candidate, Saji Cherian won by 20,956 votes as the counting of votes for the bypoll to the Chengannur Assembly seat in Kerala began on Thursday early in the morning.

Congress candidate D Vijayakumar is in the second position followed by the Bharatiya Janata Party’s P S Sreedharan Pillai.

LDF’s Saji Cherian has got 67,303 votes followed by UDF’s D Vijayakumar with 46,347 and NDA’s P Sreedharan Pillai with 35,270 votes.

Saji Cherian has recorded the largest majority in Chengannur.

Last time, the LDF won so decisively was in 1987 when Mammen Iype had taken a lead of 15, 703 votes which is the greatest lead in Chengannur.

Previous ArticleNext Article