India, Latest News

Yeddy elected BJP’s legislative party leader, says Guv will call him soon

Bengaluru: The newly elected Karnataka BJP legislators on Wednesday formally elected BS Yeddyurappa as the legislative party leader.

Yeddyurappa was already the chief ministerial face of the Bharatiya Janata Party in the Karnataka Assembly elections held on May 12.

“Governor told me that he will take an appropriate decision. I’ll inform you after I receive the letter from him,” Yeddyurappa told reporters on Wednesday.

Of the 222 constituencies, the BJP won 104 seats, while the Congress won 78 and Janata Dal (Secular) won 38 seats, along with its ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), throwing up a hung assembly in the state.

The BJP-led NDA had won most of the assembly elections in the recent past and if they manage to form government in Karnataka it would be the 21st state to be ruled by the saffron party.

(With inputs from agencies)

Previous ArticleNext Article