Breaking News, Kerala

Kerala assembly election; Counting started

kerala polls 2016Thiruvananthapuram: Will it be UDF or LDF, will the BJP open account in the Kerala Assembly? The much-awaited results of Kerala Assembly elections 2016 will be out Thursday morning, and Evartha will bring you live, in-depth coverage of the results right from the word go.

Counting of votes started Thursday 8.00 am and the first trends are expected to be available about an hour after.

A clear picture of the results is expected by 12 noon. A total of 1,203 candidates, including 109 women, are contesting for the 140 Assembly seats.

Election Commission officials expect the counting to be over by 3.00 pm Thrusday.

The exit polls had given a clear edge to CPM-led LDF in Kerala, while some had predicted that BJP will open account in the state.

Besides chief minister Oommen Chandy and CPM veteran VS Achuthanandan, his party colleague Pinarayi Vijayan, home minister Ramesh Chennithala (Congress), IUML leader and industries minister P K Kunhalikutty, former finance minister K M Mani (Kerala Congress-M), BJP state president Kummanam Rajasekharan, former union minister O Rajagopal and former Indian cricketer Sreesanth are among the key candidates.

Some Mollywood actors including Jagadish (UDF) and KB Ganesh Kumar (LDF) are also in the fray.

(With Agency inputs)

Previous ArticleNext Article