Sabarinathan retains Aruvikkara for UDF with a lead of 10,128 votes

sabarinathan72Thiruvananthapuram: Congress candidate K S Sabarinathan, sweeping all panchayats at Aruvikkara has won by 10,128 votes which is more than what his father G Karthikeyan had when the latter contested the Assembly poll in 2011.

Mean while it is for the first time in the electoral history of Kerala, BJP candidate has secured more than 30,000 votes in an Assembly poll. O Rajagopal has got 34,145 votes and Vijayakumar acquiring 46,320 votes has retained the second position.

After losing the Aruvikkara battle, LDF candidate Vijayakumar met and congratulated Sabarinathan on election win.

“The defeat was unexpected,” said the LDF candidate. “Political reasons are not behind the loss. We will study the factors that mattered.”

Echoing Vijayakumar’s remarks, CPM State Secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan said, “Communal polarisation took place in Aruvikkara. Sabarinathan’s win cannot be considered as people’s acceptance of UDF rule.”

BJP’s O. Rajagopal, who garnered a noteworthy proportion of the votes and came third, said, “Disappointed that I could not make it to second spot.”

Previous ArticleNext Article