National Games: Second swimming gold for Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram: Team Kerala fetched five medals from pool, including two-gold, one-silver and two-bronze. The current ongoing trend draws that the swimming pool has turned to be Kerala’s favourite hunting ground.

Kerala secured its first gold through Sajan Prakash, who won the gold in men’s 100m Butterfly Stroke with a meet record. He finished in 55.03 seconds breaking the record earlier set by Virdhawal Khade (55.56). Bengal’s Supriya Mondal and Maharashtra’s Aaron D’Souza came second and third respectively.

Sajan Prakash
Sajan Prakash

Sajan Prakash grabbed three medals, including two-gold and a silver.

Sajan also won silver in the 200m Freestyle competition (1:53:27). Aaron D’Souza (1:53:06) won the gold in the event breaking the Games record.

A team comprising Sajan Prakash, A S Anand, S Arun, Sharma S P Nair won the gold in 4x100m men’s Freestyle Relay setting a new record (3:32:31).

In women’s 100m Butterfly Stroke Kerala’s Pooja R Alwa bagged bronze.

The 4×100 women’s Freestyle Relay team comprising Gulnaz, Jomy George, Priya Chandran and S Sandhya fetched Kerala its second bronze.

Kerala are currently third in the medals tally, behind Haryana (seven golds and a silver) and Madhya Pradesh (two gold, a silver and four bronze).

Previous ArticleNext Article