Finally the 29th sate is born!

telangana4_660_073113091654New Delhi : After several outrageous incidents and warm discussions, finally, Parliament approves the Bill to divide Andhra Pradesh and create the new state of Telangana on Thursday evening in the midst of strong protests by members from Seemandhra, Trinamool Congress and Shiv Sena. Despite raising concerns, the BJP backed the government but the CPM walked out in protest.
In the form of appeasement, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh announced a six-point development package for the two successor states, including the grant of special category status and tax incentives to Seemandhra.

As the new state of Telangana is born, there was widespread celebrations in the Telangana region while a bandh has been called in the Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra regions to protest against the move on Friday.

The Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2014, after being cleared by the Rajya Sabha on Thursday amid protest, will now be sent to President Pranab Mukherjee for his consent.

While the Lok Sabha had approved the bill on Tuesday, the Rajya Sabha Chairman PJ Kurien yesterday evening declared ‘the bill is passed’ amid severe protests from the pro and anti-Telanagana MPs.

The bill, passed amid as chaotic conditions in the Lok Sabha on Tuesday amid a telecast blackout, now awaits President’s approval. The central government will then publish a gazette notification. With this, two states of Telugu-speaking people will come into existence.

The passing of the bill capped nearly five-year-long turbulence in the southern state and realising nearly six-decade-old dream of Telangana people for a separate state.
Telangana state will comprise 10 districts – Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak, Nalgonda, Mahabubnagar, Karimnagar, Warangal, Khammam, Nizamabad and Adilabad. It will have about 3.5 crore population.

Hyderabad, the capital of existing Andhra Pradesh, will be a common capital of both the states for 10 years.

The residuary state of Andhra Pradesh comprising Seemandhra will have 13 districts and a population of over 5 crore.

It is in fact a revival of statehood for Telangana, which existed as Hyderabad State from 1950 to 1956, when it was merged with then Andhra State to form Andhra Pradesh, a state for Telugu-speaking people.

Telangana, a backward region, witnessed first major movement for separate statehood in 1969 and it was revived with the formation of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in 2000.

However, the nation witnessed the birth of a new state, which can be observed as a sign of development though the form of divide and rule policy.


Previous ArticleNext Article